Michael F. Braney Sportsmanship Award

Perpetual Trophy

The Michael F. Braney Sportsmanship Award may be awarded annually by the California Yacht Club to one of its members in recognition of that individual's demonstrated display of sportsmanship and Corinthian spirit within the sport of sailboat racing as recognized by his/her peers in the sport. This award may be given to worthy individuals engaged in all aspects of sailboat racing including activity as a skipper, crew member, race committee member, judge or in promotion of the sport. The sportsmanship and Corinthian spirit recognized may be at any level: local, national or international. The recognition may be for a given occurrence of for ongoing efforts over many years.

Year	Winner
Inaugural Winner:	Michael F. Braney - 1999
2000	Hal H. Haenel
2001	
2002	Betty Hampikian
2003	Alan Blunt
2004	SEO, Zoe Harrison
2005	
2006	Marylyn Hoenemeyer
2007	Dean Dierks
2008	Rick Turner
2009	Erma Darling
2010	S/C Bill Moore
2011	S/C Bill Stump
2012	Norman Belcher
2013	Not Awarded
2014	Bill Watkins
2015	Kellie Fennessy
2016	Tim Clarke
2017	Peggy Powers
2018	S/C Tom O' Connor
2019	S/C Denny Haythorn
2020	Susan Service
2021	Paula Cameron
2022	Dave Kurt
2023	Commodore Christina Tarantola
2024	Miriam Moses